Ledbetter Insurance has been providing car insurance for Missouri residents since 1988. We offer automobile coverage from minimum auto liability limits to high physical damage insurance on expensive antique autos. As an independent agent we can select from one of our many insurance companies to find you the best coverage and rate. Combine your home and auto and save even more with a multi-policy discount. Several discounts are available, multi-auto, mature driver, safe driver, good student and more.
Missouri Motorist Information for Missouri Residents.
Here are some points of interest regarding driving rules and regulation in Missouri.
- Missouri allows carrying a concealed firearm while traveling in a continuous journey peaceably through the state.
- Missouri has a confusing mix of speed limits. Lettered (county) highways, which are almost always paved, are generally posted at 55 mph. Meanwhile, gravel county roads are posted at 60 mph. A safe bet in Missouri is to diligently watch for speed limit signs and adjust your speed accordingly.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 60, Trucks 60
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
The operator or owner of every motor vehicle which is involved in an accident within this state or the owner of a legally or illegally parked car which is in any manner involved in an accident within this state, with an uninsured motorist, upon the streets or highways thereof, or on any publicly or privately owned parking lot or parking facility generally open for use by the public, in which any person is killed or injured or in which damage to property of any one person, including himself, in excess of five hundred dollars is sustained, and the owner or operator of every motor vehicle which is involved in an accident within this state if such owner or operator does not carry motor vehicle liability insurance shall, within thirty days after such accident, report the matter in writing to the director.
(Missouri Statute 303.040, http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3030000040.htm)
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Novice Drivers: Text-messaging prohibited for ages 21 and younger, using primary enforcement
School Bus Drivers: No special restrictions
All Drivers: No restrictions
- Open intoxicants are permitted in the vehicle. Consumption while operating a vehicle is prohibited.
- The BAC level is .08%.
- Missouri has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation.
- Loaded firearms may not be concealed while carried in a vehicle; however, plain view carry of rifles, shotguns, and handguns is unregulated.
- Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 1.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Missouri has a seat belt law with secondary enforcement for all front seat occupants.
- Missouri has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age. Adult safety belt may be substituted for rear seat occupants.
- Missouri has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law.
- Registration is not required to be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
From City-Data 2013
Auto Insurance Quotes for residents of Missouri
Get Your Auto Insurance Quote Online or call 1-877-901-5544 / 1-877-902-5544