Ledbetter Insurance has been providing car insurance for Ohio residents since 1988. We offer automobile coverage from minimum auto liability limits to high physical damage insurance on expensive antique autos. As an independent agent we can select from one of our many insurance companies to find you the best coverage and rate. Combine your home and auto and save even more with a multi-policy discount. Several discounts are available, multi-auto, mature driver, safe driver, good student and more.
Ohio Motorist Information for Ohio Residents.
Here are some points of interest regarding driving rules and regulation in Ohio.
- Ohio is notorious for small town speed traps and speed enforcement excesses.
- You will be fined heavily if you don’t file an accident report with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 30 days.
Rural Interstates: Cars 70, Trucks 70
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 55
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Absolute (Exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se—regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions): Interstate highway speed limits
Presumed (Driving faster than the speed limit is only evidence of unreasonable speed–you can still argue that your speed was safe under the specific conditions): All other speed limits
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: Yes
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration
Allowed at the discretion of each individual court
Jury Trial Allowed
* Only when a jail sentence is a possible penalty.
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
When and Where to File Accident Reports
Accidents involving death, personal injury, or property damage exceeding $400 must be reported immediately to the local authorities. If an injury occurs, or if there was at least $400 in property damage, and if the driver or owner of one of the vehicles in the accident doesn’t have auto insurance or acceptable financial responsibility coverage, the accident must be reported to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) within six months of the accident date. You can use this link to file a report: http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv3303.pdf
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $12,500
All injuries: $25,000
Property Damage: $7,500
Novice Drivers: No special restrictions
School Bus Drivers: No special restrictions
All Drivers: No restrictions
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08%. Under age 18 BAC level is .02%.
- Ohio has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
- Rifles, shotguns, and handguns must be transported in a cased and unloaded condition; firearms carried in the passenger compartment must be cased and unloaded or in plain view with the actions open and unloaded.
- Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 15.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Ohio has a secondary enforcement seat belt law.
- Ohio has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 5 years of age and weighing less than 40 pounds, requiring the use of approved car safety seats.
- Ohio has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age and for persons with less than one year of experience.
- If you get stopped with a rider on a motorcycle under 18 with no helmet, you can be written a “Endangering the welfare of a child” ticket.
- Registration is not required to be carried in the vehicle. Insurance card must be carried in the vehicle.
From City-Data 2013
Auto Insurance Quotes for residents of Ohio
Get Your Auto Insurance Quote Online or CALL 1-877-901-5544 / 1-877-902-5544