Ledbetter Insurance has been providing car insurance for Wisconsin residents since 1988. We offer automobile coverage from minimum auto liability limits to high physical damage insurance on expensive antique autos. As an independent agent we can select from one of our many insurance companies to find you the best coverage and rate. Combine your home and auto and save even more with a multi-policy discount. Several discounts are available, multi-auto, mature driver, safe driver, good student and more.
Wisconsin Motorist Information for Wisconsin Residents.
Here are some points of interest regarding driving rules and regulation in Wisconsin.
- Wisconsin has one of the largest deer herds in the United States (world!). There are estimates that one half of all auto accidents are collisions with animals, mostly deer.
- It is illegal to use the shoulder to pass a vehicle that is stopped and waiting to make a left hand turn.
- Wisconsin State Troopers and a sampling of local and county police officers accept Master Card and Visa charge cards for “on-the-spot” payment of traffic fines.
Rural Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Urban Interstates: Cars 65, Trucks 65
Other Limited Access Roads: Cars 65, Trucks 65
These speed limits apply unless a different limit is posted.
Speed limits are absolute–exceeding the speed limit is illegal per se (regardless of whether it was safe under the specific conditions).
Speed Limits Enforcement Techniques
Enforced through use of:
Automated Speed Enforcement: No
Ticket Payment Methods
Consult your ticket or clerk of courts
Trial By Declaration Allowed
Yes, at least in some jurisdictions, under the name “plea in writing.” Consult your court.
Jury Trial Allowed
Member of Nonresident Compact
Member of Driver License Compact
No (However, Wisconsin still reports all nonresident citations to home state.)
When and Where to File Accident Reports
The operator of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any person, any damage to state or other government-owned property, except a state or other government-owned vehicle, to an apparent extent of $200 or more or total damage to property owned by any one person or to a state or other government-owned vehicle to an apparent extent of $1,000 or more shall immediately by the quickest means of communication give notice of such accident to the police department, the sheriff’s department or the traffic department of the county or municipality in which the accident occurred or to a state traffic patrol officer.
(Wisconsin Statutes 346.70(1), http://nxt.legis.state.wi.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&d=stats&jd=top)
Resident Insurance Requirements
Liability insurance is required (although some states allow posting a cash bond or such as an alternative)
Minimum Coverage Required:
Injury to one person: $25,000
All injuries: $50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Uninsured motorist coverage is required
Novice Drivers: No special restrictions
School Bus Drivers: No special restrictions
All Drivers: As of 12/10, text-messaging prohibited using primary enforcement
- Open intoxicants are prohibited in the vehicle.
- The BAC level is .08 percent.
- Wisconsin has an administrative license suspension law and an implied consent law. The breathalyzer refusal penalty is a 1-year driver’s license revocation.
- Rifles, shotguns, and handguns must be unloaded and securely cased while in vehicle.
- Studded tires are prohibited.
- Tire chains are not required.
- Wisconsin has a seat belt law with primary enforcement.
- Wisconsin has a mandatory child restraint law for passengers under 9 years of age. Children under age 4 must use approved car safety seats.
- Wisconsin has a mandatory motorcycle helmet law for persons under 18 years of age and for drivers with a learner’s permit.
- Wisconsin has a mandatory insurance law.
From City-Data 2013
Auto Insurance Quotes for residents of Wisconsin
Get Your Wisconsin Auto Insurance Quote Online or call 1-877-901-5544 / 1-877-902-5544